New Sermon Mini-Series: Biblical Worship in Five Parts

A Study of the Worship Service in Leviticus 9

I’m planning a mini-series of four sermons, Lord willing, on the Worship Service found in Leviticus 9. This was the first worship service in the wilderness tabernacle after Aaron and his sons were ordained to the priesthood. This is my first concept of the mini-series, and I’m still distilling all the different Scripture readings.

"The Scapegoat" by William Holman Hunt, 1854-56 (click to enlarge)

"The Scapegoat" by William Holman Hunt, 1854-6 (click to enlarge)

Obviously, the last sermon in the series is an exposition of how the whole of a Christ-centered worship service in the new covenant is patterned from these three main sacrifices in Leviticus 9 and many other Old Testament texts.

August 11: The Sin Offering:

Text: Leviticus 9:1-11; Other Readings: Leviticus 4:1-5:13; Hebrews 9:11-22

August 18: The Burnt Offering:

Text: Leviticus 9:12-17; Other Readings: Leviticus 1:1-17; Ephesians 5:2; Hebrews 9:12-14

August 25: The Peace Offering:

Text: Leviticus 9:18-21; Other Readings: Leviticus 3:1-17; Romans 5:1-11

September 1: The Grain Offering:
Text: Leviticus 9:1-6, 15-17; Lev 2:1-16; Revelation 5:1-14

September 8: Christ in Leviticus 9:
Text: Leviticus 9:22-24; Luke 22:28-30; Romans 3:23-25, 12:1-2; 1 Peter 1:18-19; Revelation 19:6-9


Related Articles: